Committees

Committees

Honorary Committee

We have assembled an honorary committee to help us recognize 150 years of academic and research excellence in Detroit.

Eugene Applebaum B.S. '60, LL.D. '98 (Hon.), Co-Chair
CEO and Founder, Arbor Investments Group
Founding Chair, Wayne State University Foundation Board
1936-2017


In memory of an innovator, leader, advocate and friend

Matthew J. Simoncini B.A. '85, Co-Chair
President and CEO, Lear Corporation
Chair, Wayne State University Foundation Board

Tina Abbott
Secretary Treasurer, Michigan AFL-CIO, Retired
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Maggie Allesee M.Ed. '84, D.H.L. '02 (Hon.)
Trustee, Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan
Member, Wayne State University Foundation Board

James A. Anderson B.S. '66, M.S. '70
President, Urban Science Applications Inc.
Member, Wayne State University Foundation Board

Paul Edward Andrews B.A. '48, M.A. '55, Ed.D. '66
Executive Director Emeritus, Wayne State University Alumni Association

Vernice Davis Anthony B.S.N. '70
CEO, VDA Health Connect LLC
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Chacona W. Baugh
Former Vice President, Wayne State University Division of Development and Alumni Affairs

Joique Bell B.S. '12, M.A. '17
Former Running Back, Detroit Lions
Former Running Back, Wayne State University Football

Richard H. Bernstein
Supreme Court Justice, Michigan Supreme Court
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Robert P. Brincheck
Business Transformation Director, PTC

George A. Dean B.S. '53, M.D. '56
Family Practitioner, Sheikh Medical Center
Clinical Associate Professor, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Elaine C. Driker B.S. '59
Founding Director, Detroit Orientation Institute, Retired

Eugene Driker B.S. '59, J.D. '61, LL.D. '01 (Hon.)
Founding Member and Attorney, Barris, Sott, Denn & Driker PLLC
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors
Former Chair, Wayne State University Foundation Board

Michael Einheuser B.Phil. '77
Attorney, Einheuser Legal PC
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Suzanne L. Feetham, M.S.N., Ph.D. '69, LL.D. '16 (Hon.)
Former Harriet H. Werley Endowed Research Chair, University of Illinois at Chicago

Anthony P. Frabotta B.A. '73
Chairman and CEO, UHY Advisors

Karen Lynn Frade B.A. '92, B.S.N. '96, M.Ed. '01
Part-Time Faculty Member, Wayne State University

Peter Daniel Frade B.S. '68, M.S. '71, Ph.D. '78
Associate Dean for Health Sciences, Wayne State University Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Jane Garcia
Chair, Latin Americans for Social and Economic Development Board of Directors

Yousif B. Ghafari B.A. '74, M.A. '75, M.S. '81, LL.D. '08 (Hon.)
Founder and Chairman, Ghafari Associates LLC
Member, Wayne State University Foundation Board

Andy Giancamilli B.S. Pharmacy '73
Managing Director, L'Aquila Management Group

Wanda P. Giancamilli B.A. '73
Retired Attorney

Allan D. Gilmour
President Emeritus, Wayne State University
Retired Vice Chairman, Ford Motor Company

Mary Glantz B.S. '80
Board of Directors, Ladies of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul

Paul A. Glantz B.S. '80
President, Proctor Financial Inc.
Co-Founder and CEO, Emagine Entertainment Inc.
Member, Wayne State University Foundation Board and Chair, Investment Committee

Elizabeth P. Hardy J.D. '84
Member, Kienbaum Opperwall Hardy & Pelton PLC
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Mort Harris LL.D. '11 (Hon.)
Co-Founder, American Axle & Manufacturing Inc.
Director Emeritus, Wayne State University Foundation Board

Sonia S. Hassan M.D. '94
Founder, Make Your DateTM
Associate Dean for Maternal, Perinatal and Child Health, Wayne State University School of Medicine

David M. Hempstead J.D. '75
Member, Bodman PLC
Member, Wayne State University Foundation Board

George H. Hill B.S. '64
President and CEO, Diversified Chemical Technologies Inc.

Paul Hillegonds
CEO, Michigan Health Endowment Fund
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Danialle Karmanos B.A. '01
Founder and Board Chair, Danialle Karmanos' Work It Out (DKWIO)
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Barbara L. Klarman J.D. '64
Commercial and Real Estate Attorney, Retired
Former Adjunct Law Professor, Wayne Law and Institute of Continuing Legal Education

Linda L. Leddick B.S. '66, M.Ed. '72, Ph.D. '85

Denise J. Lewis M.A. '69
Partner, Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors
Member, Wayne State University Foundation Board

Daniel J. Loepp B.A. '82, M.A. '86, LL.D. '14 (Hon.)
President and CEO, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

David J. Lowrie B.S. '64
Academic Services Officer IV, Wayne State University

Florine Mark
President and CEO, Weight Watchers Group Inc.

Arthur F. Marotti, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Wayne State University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Philip P. Mason, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Wayne State University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Founder, Wayne State University Reuther Library Archives

Paul E. Massaron
Owner, PEM Consulting
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

Annetta Miller B.A. '95
Former Member, State of Michigan Board of Education
Governor Emeritus, Wayne State University Board of Governors

E. Powell Miller J.D. '86
Partner and Founder, Miller Law Firm

Ali Moiin, M.D.
Owner, A Comprehensive Dermatology Center
Clinical Associate Professor, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Ann V. Nicholson
Board of Directors, Young Woman's Home Association
Board of Directors, Alternatives For Girls

Sue Nine B.A. '62
Representative, Bloomfield Hills School Foundation Board

Gary S. Pollard
Government Relations Consultant

Irvin D. Reid, Ph.D.
President Emeritus, Wayne State University

Donald N. Ritzenhein B.A. '68, M.A. '80, Ph.D. '99
Adjunct Faculty, Wayne State University

Robert A. Sedler
Distinguished Professor, Wayne State University Law School

Robert Sestok
Contemporary Artist, Sculptor and Painter

George I. Shirley B.S. '56, D.H.L '12 (Hon.)
Professor, University of Michigan
National Medal of Arts recipient, 2015

Frederick J. Sievert M.S. '76
President, New York Life Insurance Company, Retired
Member, Wayne State University Foundation Board

Thomas L. Simmer M.D. '80
Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

S. Gary Spicer, Sr. M.B.A., J.D. '65
Sports and Entertainment Attorney, Law Firm of S. Gary Spicer, Sr.

Nicholas J. Stasevich B.A. '85
Shareholder, Butzel Long

Guy Stern, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Wayne State University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Cynthia Taueg, D.H.A., B.S.N. '71
Vice President of Community Based Health Services, St. John Providence

Iris Alice Taylor B.S.N. '74, M.S.N '78, Ph.D. '96
President, Detroit Receiving Hospital and University Health Center, Retired

Robert L. Thomas, Ph.D.
Dean Emeritus, Wayne State University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Marianne Cook Victor B.S. '63, M.Ed. '66, Ph.D. '72
Retired Psychologist

Phyllis I. Vroom B.A. '59, M.S.W. '66
Dean Emeritus, Wayne State University School of Social Work

Jacquelin E. Washington M.S.W. '65
President, Planned Parenthood of Southeast Michigan, Retired

Steering Committee

Reflecting different disciplines and areas of the university, this committee is leading the development of WSU Stories and our commemorative publication.

Jeff Block, co-chair
Assistant Vice President, Special Events and Services
ao1850@wayne.edu

Marc Kruman, co-chair
Professor of History
Director, Center for the Study of Citizenship
mkruman@wayne.edu

Julie Miller, co-chair
Vice President and Secretary to the Board of Governors
julie.h.miller@wayne.edu

Theresa Arist
Chief of Staff, Department of Athletics
theresa.arist@wayne.edu

Peter Caborn
Executive Director, Alumni Association
pcaborn@wayne.edu

Marquita Chamblee
Associate Provost, Diversity and Inclusion
Chief Diversity Officer
mtchamblee@wayne.edu

Dalia Ibrahim
Vice President, Student Senate
dalia@wayne.edu

Jackie Frank
Associate Director, Commencement
jfrank@wayne.edu

Victor Green
Director, Community Relations
victor.green@wayne.edu

Patrick Lindsey
Vice President, Government & Community Affairs
patrick.lindsey@wayne.edu

Erik Nordberg
Director, Walter P. Reuther Library and Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs
erik.nordberg@wayne.edu

Christa Raju
Director, Publications and Design
ccraju@wayne.edu

Louis Romano
President, Academic Senate
ljr@chem.wayn.edu

Matthew Seeger
Dean, College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts
matthew.seeger@wayne.edu

David Strauss
Dean of Students
davidstrauss@wayne.edu

Tracy Utech
Associate Vice President, Development and Alumni Affairs
tracy.utech@wayne.edu

Caryn Volpe
Director, Strategic Planning and Recruitment, School of Medicine
cvolpe@med.wayne.edu

School of Medicine Committee

We have organized a committee to pay tribute to Wayne State's founding school and its landmark medical achievements.

Steve Henrie, co-chair
Associate Vice President, Development and Alumni Affairs
shenrie@med.wayne.edu

Caryn Volpe, co-chair
Director, Strategic Planning and Recruitment
cvolpe@med.wayne.edu

Sharon Ackerman
Associate Professor, Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
sackerm@med.wayne.edu

Maysaa Basha
Associate Professor — Clinical, Neurology
mmerhi@med.wayne.edu

George Brush
Associate Professor, Oncology
brushg@med.wayne.edu

Erin Carmany
Assistant Professor — Clinical, Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics
ecarmany@med.wayne.edu

Michael Carron
Associate Professor — Clinical, Otolaryngology
mcarron@med.wayne.edu

Kristin Copenhaver
Director of Marketing and Communications, Health Affairs
kcopenhaver@wayne.edu

Steve Daveluy
Associate Professor FTA — Clinical, Dermatology
sdaveluy@med.wayne.edu

Dellashon Di Cresce
Event Specialist, Development and Alumni Affairs
ddicresce@med.wayne.edu

Vaibhav Diwadkar
Professor, Psychiatry
vdiwadka@med.wayne.edu

Joseph Dunbar
Academic Director, Physiology (Faculty Senate representative)
ad4730@wayne.edu

Allison Gherardini
Events/Co-Curricular Program Specialist, Medical Student Affairs
agherard@med.wayne.edu

Leo Hall
M.D. student — Year 1 (Class President)
lhall@med.wayne.edu

Kathleen Holbrook
Manager, Student Outreach and Content Strategy
kathleen.holbrook@wayne.edu

Sandra Martin
Director, Shiffman Medical Library
smartin@med.wayne.edu

Brooke McKnight
Cancer Biology Ph.D. student
bcknigh@med.wayne.edu

Jennifer Mendez
Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine
jmendez@med.wayne.edu

Viktoria Mladenovik
M.D. student — Year 1
vmladeno@med.wayne.edu

Cheri Nowak
Director, Human Resources Client Services
ds0197@wayne.edu

Jeyasuria Pancharatnam
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
suria@med.wayne.edu

Yaddanapudi Ravindranath
Professor, Pediatrics
ravi@med.wayne.edu

James Rillema
Professor, Physiology
jrillema@med.wayne.edu

Wael Sakr
Department Chair, Pathology
wsakr@med.wayne.edu

Mary Simmons
Manager, Biomedical Marketing
mcsimmons@med.wayne.edu

Ellen Tisdale
Associate Professor, Pharmacology
etisdale@med.wayne.edu

Phil VanHulle
Associate Director, Communications
cz5680@wayne.edu

Paul Walker
Professor, Anatomy
pdwalker@med.wayne.edu